Temporary Burials at Kaneohe Naval Air Station

Marines and sailors from Kaneohe Naval Air Station stand solemnly over temporary graves in the dunes of North Beach. Eighteen military personnel were killed in the attack the previous day. The Marine honor guard fired rifle volleys in salute. The trucks used to transport the casualties to the temporary cemetery can be seen in the background. Note gun emplacement on the hill overlooking the graves. Some of the casualties were completely obliterated by Japanese bombs; they were declared dead a year after the attack. Patrol Squadron 11 (VP-11) lost Aviation Ordinanceman 3rd Class John D. Buckley (born July 28, 1920); Aviation Machinist's Mate 1st Class Clarence M. Formoe (born January 25, 1909); Ensign Rodney S. Foss (born May 8, 1919); Aviation Machinist's Mate 3rd Class Milburn A. Manning (born February 16, 1920); Seaman 2nd Class James. H. Robinson (born April 17, 1923); Ensign Joseph G. Smartt (born 1920); and Seaman 1st Class Luther D. Weaver (born July 14, 1920). Patrol Squadron 12 (VP-12) lost Aviation Machinist's Mate 2nd Class Walter S. Brown (born March 14, 1916); Ensign Lee Fox Jr. (born January 11, 1920); Aviation Machinist's Mate Daniel T. Griffin (born March 25, 1911); Seaman 2nd Class George W. Ingram (born February 22, 1918); Aviation Machinist's Mate 2nd Class Charles Lawrence (born December 29, 1916); Seaman 2nd Class Carl W. Otterstetter (born January 11, 1920); Aviation Machinist's Mate 3rd Class Robert K. Porterfield (born December 7, 1919); Ensign Robert W. Uhlmann (born August 16, 1919); and Aviation Machinist's Mate 1st Class Raphael A. Watson (born 1911). Patrol Squadron 14 (VP-14) lost Aviation Machinist's Mate 3rd Class Laxton G. Newman (born November 25, 1916) and Kaneohe Naval Air Station Headquarters lost Seaman 1st Class Stanley D. Dosick. Ensign Foss, who as due to be relived by Ensign Smartt as Duty Officer, was killed in the first wave. Smartt arrived to find him dead. Watson's family hid on the base quarters with their mattresses in the windows and didn't learn of his death until after the attack. Two civilian contractors, Kimiko A. Hookano (born February 6, 1906) and Issac W. Lee (born circa 1920) were also killed, but buried separately. USS Buckley (DE-51), USS Formoe (DE-509), USS Lee Fox (DE-65, later APD-45), USS Foss (DE-59), USS Daniel T. Griffin (DE-54), USS George W. Ingram (DE-62, later APD-43), USS Charles Lawrence (DE-53), USS Manning (DE‑199), USS Newman (DE-205, later APD-59), USS Otterstetter (DE-244), USS Uhlmann (DD-687), and USS Weaver (DE-741) were ships named for Kaneohe's dead. Smartt Field in Saint Louis, Missouri, was named for Ensign Smartt, who trained there. His stepfather was notified in 1958 of the official name change. These casualties were disinterred in 1949 and moved to the permanent National Memorial Cemetery of the Pacific in the Punchbowl above Honolulu.
Caption Written By: 
Jason McDonald
Date Photographed: 
Monday, December 8, 1941
United States of America